fortune tellers

My mother is a firm believer in fortune tellers. She also has various superstitions that she subscribes to–some of which I have unwittingly adopted. But it is the fortune tellers that I remember the most.

I can’t say that I’ve been dragged to see these fortune tellers, because I usually enjoyed the visits. When I was younger, I was worried about finding a boyfriend, doing well in school, getting a good job, etc. In retrospect, considering the concerns that I have now, those worries all pretty much take care of themselves. Of course, when you’re young, you can’t believe that–and you hate it when the old people tell you that you’re young and should just enjoy your youth.

(Now I try to stop myself from saying the same thing to young people–but I can’t help but think like those old people.)

Most of time, the future that was predicted for me was very wrong. Although, I remember one fortune teller surprising me when she stated that I was in love with someone, and the name of the person started with the letter “L.” I just nodded–but it was actually true. And something that I was trying not to admit to myself–because I really should not have been in love with “L” because he was in love with someone else.

Lately, Mom has been talking with a feng-shui master, who also dabbles in fortune telling. Well, it actually translates more into something like “calculating destiny”–although that sounds too heavy. Basically, there is an ancient Chinese method (isn’t it always an ancient Chinese method?) of fortune telling, based on the time and date that you were born and your sex. It divides up your life into 12-year periods (I think it’s 12) and there is a sort of counting mechanism where you put symbols in each period and then you read what you’ve come up with. I’m sure there is a good English translation for this somewhere–but I don’t know what it is.

Anyway, the past several times I’ve talked with Mom, she has pressed upon me to hurry up and have a kid–as if all I need to do is push a button and boom, I’m pregnant. What makes me laugh is that she is very serious about it, because the feng-shui master has told her that this is my last opportunity to have a kid–it is now or never. Of course, this is not much of a prediction, considering that I’m 38 years old. Anyone could have told me that this is my last chance.

But I’ve also thought about what a good prediction it is–because it can’t be wrong. Either I get pregnant–and the feng-shui master is correct–because it was my last chance. Or, I don’t get pregnant–and the feng-shui master is correct–because I waited too long and missed my chance.

Similarly, the feng-shui master told my mom that there is a little boy, waiting to be born. And that this little boy wants to be my son. But, if I wait too long, the little boy will get impatient and leave. Which means I’ll have a little girl. Once again, another very good prediction where the feng-shui master is certain to be right.

Although I can see how conveniently worded these predictions are, I don’t completely ignore them. Sometimes, they really stick with me. But I have to remember that there are still choices that I can make. Fortune tellers can only tell me part of my story.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

